Skip to Content

Earth League Co-Chair, Johan Rockström, Is Awarded the Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement

Earth League co-chair and Director at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK), Johan Rockström, has won the 2024 Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement. The Tyler Prize recognizes Rockström’s research work on the “Planetary Boundaries” framework to help keep the planet in a safe operating space. 

The Tyler Prize, established in 1973, is an annual award to recognize global leaders in environmental science, environmental health and energy, and is referred to as the ‘Nobel Prize for Environment’.

Rockström will be awarded $250,000 by the Tyler Prize Executive Committee for his “science-based approach to sustainable development for people on a stable and resilient planet.” and will deliver a public presentation on his work at the University of Potsdam in Germany on May 17, 2024

More information: